My Go To “Green” Smoothie

           imageimage

Lately I’ve been really excited about making and EATING green smoothie bowls (aka smoothies with delicious toppings).  I’m trying my best not to have them too often so they remain as a special treat and sweet tooth fix. In addition I know I can go overboard with fruits and nuts!  The issue with fruit: it is just too much sugar, especially when I use fruit as toppings.

My go to smoothie, ingredients I almost always have on hand. You can always improvise and switch out spinach for any greens ( I do this a lot!) as well as add extra of everything to make a larger smoothie.

Tips

**any blender will do! I use a magic bullet! I can’t wait to get my hands on a Vitamix!

** place spinach closest to the blade or blend it first with the liquid to make sure it really gets broken up. The picture on the left is after the spinach was blended and the heavy fruit chunks were at the bottom getting mixed.

** frozen fruit works best for a thick non “icy” consistency

** when adding my liquid in this recipe water OR unsweetened vanilla almond milk I start with less and add more if the blender is having trouble mixing everything. When making a smoothie bowl you want the consistency to be thick. If you’re planning on just sipping on your smoothie than use the full amount of liquid.

Recipe

  • 1/2 Frozen Banana
  • 3/4 cup of Frozen Raspberries
  • large handful of organic spinach ~ 1 cup
  • 2 tablespoons of ground flaxseed
  • 1 tablespoon of raw almond butter
  • 3/4-1 cup of water OR unsweetened organic vanilla almond milk

Toppings 

  • Chopped unsalted nuts ( raw or roasted)
  • Fresh cut fruit
  • Unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Goji berries
  • Sunflower seeds
  • A dollop of nut butter
  • Cocoa nibs

 image

Pictured above are some of my smoothie bowl creations

1 thought on “My Go To “Green” Smoothie”

Leave a Reply

